The Arkley Prize

The memory of much-loved artist Howard Arkley is honoured by The Arkley Prize, established in 2010 by Arkley’s mother, Gwen and her late partner Frank Lewis. The prize is awarded by an esteemed group of judges to the artist whose work in NotFair is considered to be outstanding. The aim of the prize is to acknowledge the skills of an emerging artist and reflect Howard Arkley’s passion as practitioner and teacher.

“We’ve done it in memory of Howard,” said Gwen Arkley. “I feel he would have wanted to help younger artists. He won awards himself, but he was also a very generous artist, teacher and friend.”

2016 Winner: Isabelle De Kleine

Isabelle De Kleine
Knowing 2016
watercolour, gouache and acrylic on paper 160 x 113 cm


2014 Winner: Hari Ho


Marijke Arkley, 2014 winner Hari Ho, Sarah Arkley,  Doug Hall and Ashley Crawford


2012 Winner: Simon Finn


Marijke Arkley, Sarah Arkley, 2012 winner Simon Finn, Ashley Crawford,
Melissa Amore and Sam Leach


2010 Winner: Jake Walker

A WEST COAST RIVER Jake Walker 2009 oil on found painting

Jake Walker, A West Coast River, 2009
oil on found painting